I Remember..

Photo by midweekpost

Photo by midweekpost

I remember the bright lights of the city.

I remember, as a little boy, the sense of wonderment at being transported into an entirely new world, completely different from the dark, quiet countryside from which I hail.

I remember the long walks, hand held by a distant uncle, tugging my hand gently if I stopped too long.

I remember his deep, rich baritone, speaking with mother of things I was too young to understand then.

I remember his clear voice, giving life to silent hallways and concrete edifices with tales of heroism and sacrifice.

I remember him speaking of the tires burning in front of City Hall, where our kind were threatened and insulted. We continued to stand firm despite what was said.

I remember him speaking of Penn Prison, where the best and brightest of our kind were beaten and tortured for our beliefs. We refused to budge from our ideals.

I remember him speaking of the nightly gatherings in Savior Plaza, where we heard our fiercest critics condemn us for carrying out our duty. We chose to ignore their words, spoken more out of ignorance than anger.

I remember him speaking of our women and children in Barker Avenue, where they were stalked by armed gangs of thugs. We did not bow down to their strongarm bullying.

I remember him speaking of our brothers and sisters in Wallace Market, where they were harassed by police officers. We stayed on in spite of the constant disturbance.

I remember he spoke of hatred and disgust, of fear-mongering and fire in the streets. More importantly, I remember he spoke of forgiveness and tolerance, of non-violent approaches and courage.

I remember the bright lights of the city.

I remember patience. I remember unity. I remember change. I remember jubilation. I remember..

Redemption.

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Creative. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

