Going Home

Photo by sub_lime79

Photo by sub_lime79

A journey down memory lane indeed.

Course Registration

I finished registering my courses for the next semester over the past week. The fact that the online registration this time has been relatively pain-free surprises me.

Previously, the course registration system was a real clunker. Courses were arranged by semester, and switching from one semester to another required you to refresh the page. Engineering and technology stream courses were all jumbled up together.

In short, registration was a major pain in the butt.

This time around, ever since the university administration migrated everything over into a new system (called PRiSM, I think), things have been much more streamlined and simplified.

It’s not to say the system’s perfect. I do have my gripes though: courses that you have already completed are not greyed out like they should be, but available to be selected again (unless UTP does offer that option??).

On the whole though, PRiSM is a huge step forward in the right direction, and UTP’s efforts to improve itself should be commended.

Seven More Weeks Left

Do you know why you suddenly find me here talking about UTP?

It’s hard to believe there’s only seven weeks left till the end of my internship with KPMG. It feels like just yesterday that I stepped into the office, bright-eyed with wonder, excited to begin working life.

Now, I feel just like a working adult. Most of my colleagues – and all my managers – have stopped treating me like the little kid that they have to handle with care. To them I’m already a part of the company, an employee, a permanent staff member.

I look forward to returning to the relative ease of university life. But I will miss working life, despite all the complaints I had about it, despite the nights I had to stay back to work late, despite the stress and the hectic nature and the rush..

The Lessons I Learned

You know why? Because working taught me many things better than university life ever did. Working life taught me..

  1. Responsibility: When you fuck up, you don’t shift the blame to someone else. You give your best in everything you do. You do everything you are told to do.
  2. Time management: You prioritize tasks. You make a to-do list and check it off as you complete your things-to-do. You plan out your day in the morning and try to stick to the schedule. You finish your work on time. You ask for help if you can’t.
  3. Communication: You speak firmly, clearly, but also politely. You adjust your tone according to the mood of the conversation. You listen, and understand what is being said.
  4. Confidence: You walk with the air of a man who’s seen it all. You smile when meeting new people, and you shake their hands firmly. You radiate an aura of positive self-belief.
  5. Teamwork: You collaborate with your team to get things done. You divide the work accordingly and you do your part as promised. You offer to help others with their work when you can. You back each other up and look out for each other.
  6. Perseverance: You suck it up when the shit hits the fan. You keep your cool in tight situations. You don’t bitch about others behind their back just because you’re pissed at them. In fact, you don’t bitch at all.

The Road Ahead

It’s been a rough six months past, but it’s been a damn good six months.

In one week’s time, I will be assigned to a new job, going through the motions with which I am quite familiar by now.

In two weeks’ time, the engineering students of my batch will begin their internship, both excited and nervous at the same time.

In three weeks’ time, my lecturer will turn up for my second visit, and I will have to present a summary of my internship programme to her.

In four weeks’ time, it will be a month from now.

In seven weeks’ time.. I’m going home.

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going Home

  1. Henry Yew says:

    In a week’s time I’m so gonna have lunch or dinner with you~!

  2. kenwooi says:

    haha all the best, and keep on striving for the best!
    you can do it, jared! =D

    p/s: it’s getting more and more interesting around here.. hehe.. cheers!

  3. Jared says:

    @Henry Yew
    That’s right!🙂

    @kenwooi
    Thanks dude! Really appreciate your comments.😀

Leave a Reply

