The Paths Taken, Redux

You said you were going to be cool with whatever happens between us. But I know better. You were trying too hard to keep everything together and that only made things worse. Now every time I see you I see a woman who’s half the person she used to be, pretending she isn’t affected by the mess that our lives have become.

I thought I had it all in my hands, only to have it all turn out like this. If this isn’t irony, I don’t know what is. My heart is heavy with the burden of knowing and I haven’t the slightest idea when it will stop weighing down on me. On the bright side, you’re free to do what you’ve always wanted now that we’re done.

I don’t plan on finding someone new just yet. When I do she’ll be one who is close to me, who cares for me more than most people really do. I’m glad I was able to do so much in the little time that I was with you, but there are moments that I wished I could have done more. We had something good going, but we should’ve known that ‘forever’ is just an illusion.

Here’s to the paths that we had been.. and here’s to never seeing you again.

[inspired by Redblaque]

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Creative. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

