Readjusting Once More

Photo by tm_lv

Photo by tm_lv

After what seemed like a few short months at work, I finally find myself back in the (un)comforts of university life.

I can’t tell you enough about how utterly strange it seems to be attending lectures once more, or to find that I’m not fully occupied with work from 9 to 5, or to be worrying about assignments and projects and tests again. And the food here is.. a far cry from the smorgasbord of delicacies available to me daily in KL. How am I going to maintain my newfound weight here?😦

On the other hand, free movies, songs and games (courtesy of our dedicated downloading student community) isn’t too bad either! It’s one of the things I missed most about UTP while away for internship. Yeah, I’m a huge geek, so sue me.😛

The most important part of my final year at UTP would be my FINAL YEAR PROJECT (FYP). Whatever the engineering students went through for their Engineering Team Project (ETP), the FYP is much harder because we’re expected to work on it on our own!

The whipped cream on my ice cream? NO RESEARCH-BASED FYPs ALLOWED. Regardless of our status as ICT (technical IT) or BIS (business IT) students, we’re each required to develop an application or system for our project.

My conundrum now is to figure out how to fulfil the requirement (to develop a system) while at the same time selecting a topic that suits my major. Currently I am pursuing a major in Knowledge Management, which sounds more awesomesauce than Information Management, which in turn sounds less awesomesauce than Innovation Management.

Semantics aside, however, I have managed to find a suggested topic by one of my fave lecturers that more or less meets my needs, and I’m very interested to find out what she has in mind! In addition, it seems that another coursemate of mine has selected the topic I like as a potential FYP topic for himself, so I need to go to my lecturer and work out something between all three of us.

I’m quite daunted by the brisk schedule and pacing of the entire FYP, but at the same time I quite enjoy the anticipation of something challenging!😀

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Readjusting Once More

  1. Brian Woon says:

    Ah UTP. I sure miss dc++. All the series, movies, games & anime one could ever have. But as for the food, I don’t miss it one bit! >.< [except maybe paprika?]
    Could I ask what is Knowledge Management? You sort of manage knowledge?
    Anyway good luck for your FYP! (^_^)

  2. kenwooi says:

    FYP?? haha.. we call it DMP here Double-Module Project..! and finished it.. im gonna be out of inti soon! left finals.. haha..

    enjoy lectures =)

Leave a Reply

