Unwell

Photo by Sarihuella

Photo by Sarihuella

I’m not crazy, I’m just a little unwell
I know, right now you can’t tell
But stay awhile and maybe then you’ll see
A different side of me
– Matchbox 20, ‘Unwell’

The world’s fascination with the A(H1N1) virus is astounding. According to WHO statistics, more than one thousand people have already died from the disease out of 160 thousand cases worldwide. No country can claim to have been spared the spread of the virus, and there are already news that a super-resistant strain of the virus could emerge within months. Comparisons of the A(H1N1) virus to the 1918 influenza pandemic have been repeatedly made, with many experts fearing that now is just “the calm before the storm”.

What if the A(H1N1) virus was just a prelude to something much, much more devastating?

Something that would mark the beginning of our end, not just as an ordered society – but as a species?

The end is near. It starts with the flu.

I’m packing up my stuff now.

Those of you who want to join me are most welcome. Leave me a comment on this post.

I’ll contact you again once I’ve reached the Straits of Malacca.

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

