Found Meaning

Photo by lanuiop

Photo by lanuiop

Waking up had lost its luster for me. We run this rat race to infinity and beyond, no end in sight, no deeper meaning to be had in between the stacks of paperwork and the trips to the photocopier. Those empty chats as we mill around the coffee machine, bragging about our latest materialistic pursuit. The secret flicking between websites and work when the boss isn’t looking over our shoulder. I know it from the way our eyes carefully tiptoe around each other’s. We don’t really care about one another, we just pretend so the next time we need to take “emergency leave” we can count on someone else to cover our collective ass.

Somehow, across the unending gulf of busy, uncaring people, you and I made a connection.

You tell me it was a mistake, I say it was providence. You tell me I’ve got it all wrong, I say I finally got it right. You tell me it shouldn’t have to mean anything, I say it was the most meaningful thing I’ve done in a long, long time. But when you tell me you want to leave, I say, “Fine, go ahead.”

Because I’m leaving too.

You reminded me there is more to this than everything I’ve seen. For that alone, I cannot be grateful enough.Β The next time I run barefoot through a field of daisies, lie in the comfort of a shady oak, or dance with my clothes off in the pouring rain, I will think of you.

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Creative. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Found Meaning

  1. Malessa says:

    heyy jared! didnt know you blogged. btw, nice postπŸ˜‰

  2. Jared says:

    @Malessa
    Hey there! Now you know I blog.πŸ˜› Thanks for the compliment, and you’ve been linked!πŸ™‚

  3. Malessa says:

    heyya!! thanks for linking =) its been awhile since we chatted. last was in fb right? hehe.

  4. Jared says:

    @fie
    Hey hey! I’ve linked you!

    @Malessa
    No problem. Yes, it’s been real long since we last chatted, and yes, it was Facebook the last time round. We need to catch up!πŸ˜€

  5. yiwei says:

    zis is fascinatingand I’m trying to read into what’s behind this lol

  6. Joanna says:

    Nice one

    So I know this is totally inconsequential but the girl in the pic ….. me likes ! That came out so wrong but there’s just something about the way she smiles. haha

  7. Jared says:

    @yiwei
    Thank you!πŸ™‚

    @Joanna
    It came out alright. I liked her smile a lot too, so I put this picture in.πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

