Mind Your Language!

english-sucks

Disclaimer: not a real software๐Ÿ˜›

A week ago, I posted this status on both my Facebook and my Twitter:

the standard of english among many students in this campus is laughably bad. more so when they put up websites/blogs for the public to read.

In the days since then, I have been receiving a number of “gentle nudges” from certain people informing me that I’ve tarnished the university’s reputation by doing so. Better still, some of these individuals have taken my statement personally as if I had insulted them by name!

My beef is not with those of you who maintain personal blogs. As far as I’m concerned, your blog is your blog, and I have no say in what language you should be using to post your thoughts and daily ramblings. If anything, mixing two or more languages on your blog seems to better convey a friendlier, more personal tone to readers.

No, my problem is with those clubs and events within UTP that have their own blogs or websites. Usually, these are meant to keep students posted on the latest developments and happenings. However, if you intend to create a blog or website for this purpose, then, by all means, do get someone check on your basics, like spelling, vocabulary and grammar.

For me, I find it really is an embarrassment to see a high-quality, professionally designed website with awesome graphics and impeccable CSS marred by the fact that the English used in its pages are simply horrendous.

You want to talk about tarnishing the university’s reputation? I can think of no better way than to showcase poor English skills on some of our most prominent club / event websites and blogs, especially when these are the public face of our university! It is simply appalling that students of our level of education are unable to grasp the basics of English communication. We had better buck up if we want to prevent ourselves from becoming a laughing stock among local universities!

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mind Your Language!

  1. joe says:

    this are a verys good posts๐Ÿ˜„

  2. Jared says:

    @mich, @joe
    So glad we all see eye-to-eye on the state of English on campus!๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Henry Yew says:

    Ah! The very thing that bugs our university! We have administrators writing notices like “Tenis court will closed for a week” and MPPUTP notices in the blog which are riddled with errors. Read this simple and short notice: http://utpress.blogspot.com/2009/08/acad-study-week-issue.html and tell me how many errors are there.

    All I’ve got to say to such people is that THERE’S THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE CLUB TO HELP. DON’T WAIT FOR THEM TO COME TO YOU – YOU GO TO THEM!

  4. kersani says:

    yeah, couldn’t agree more with ya Jared!
    sadly, these people hate to be corrected or simply said, ‘Bodoh Sombong’.
    I got no problem with people having grammatical error when they speak but writing in official blogs or websites, it’s like they just write-post-whatthehelldoicare??
    at least reread what you have post la rite?๐Ÿ˜€

  5. mich says:

    I would LOVE to help them proofread their posts. But I guess everyone is just scared to voice out that the standard of English here in UTP is abysmal.

  6. Jared says:

    @Henry Yew, @kersani, @mich
    Is the university administration aware of the extent of this problem? I didn’t really want to point out specific examples of bad horrible English usage, but I’m sure the administrators won’t have too much trouble finding some on their own.๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. mich says:

    true, true.

  8. Sodrohu says:

    Guru kencing berdiri, murid kencing berlari. If the Management’s English is crap, can we really expect better standards from the students?

  9. kenwooi says:

    well i agree…
    so english guru, my blog pass or not?
    haha.. =D

  10. Jared says:

    @kenwooi
    Pass!๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

