The Dread Sunday

Quickie: Revenge of the Fallen and Star Trek in glorious 1080p, baby!😀

Photo by Just chaos

Photo by Just chaos

I’ve just had one of those bad days where nothing seemed to go right. Unfortunately for me, that day happened to be a Sunday, which is supposed to be a day of rest, relaxation and fun. Though I originally planned to write a long article ranting about the sorry state of affairs of the day, I decided to put my frustrations aside and write a less negative piece.

So how was my ‘Dread Sunday’, you ask?

Well, it actually began on Saturday night. Having not been bored out of my mind for quite some time, I was looking for an outlet to keep me preoccupied. I found GTA IV, but the problems in installing and playing the game resulted in me heading to bed when everyone else was already waking up. What this meant was, eventually, I woke in the evening – practically wasting half the day as Rip Van Winkle.

Dinner wasn’t exactly haute cuisine, so my meal didn’t help my mood either. A study group scheduled for that evening didn’t pan out too, though that was expected. Half of the group’s members were busy with a major event going on over the weekend, so I did not begrudge them the fact. We wouldn’t have made substantial progress anyway if everyone was worn out from the day’s happenings.

On top of all that, the water supply was cut for the better part of the night. Toilets, sinks and shower nozzles all became worthless showcase pieces that couldn’t work. A raging stomach ache forced me to search the university for a working bathroom (one which I found quite nearby, much to my relief), but I had to forego the luxury of a cold shower.

Calling some friends to chat didn’t turn out so well either. The moment they picked up the phone, Maxis’ signal mysteriously vanishes even though I’m not moving around. Thus, the simple act of talking over the phone becomes impossible. The Internet connection was wonky too, so no email, IM, Facebook or Twitter.

All in all, a day enough to drive anyone crazy. It almost did me.

Now that it’s Monday, however, looking back I feel pretty stupid that I was so angry and frustrated at everything. Like it or not, we’re all going to have some days of our lives that are so exceptionally bad that it seems just too bad to be true! I think things would have been very, very different if I had woken up with a brighter, more positive attitude, the fact that I woke up at 5:00 pm notwithstanding.

Some say bad days tend to get worse when your mood in the morning is troubled – or expecting trouble. What do you think? Have you had one of those days that was just so bad that you were angry and frustrated the whole time? How did you overcome those negative emotions? I would love to hear your thoughts about this in the comments section below!

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Dread Sunday

  1. Brian says:

    I can kind of understand your situation. I had similar days like yours. But the funny thing is when i try to recall it, it’s all a blur. If I was in your shoes, I would have stopped for a moment, take a deep breath & find a way to make things right.

    *Btw, I spend the entire Sunday to play RE5 until the last chapter. Got owned by Albert Wesker. (>…<)"""
    Another thing, was Startrek (1080p = HDelicious!) nice? I'm not really a fan of Startrek. Don't really follow the story. One of the actors is the guy who acted as Sylar in Heroes right?

  2. Henry Yew says:

    Hmmm… my Dread Sunday – solution: SLEEP saja… all your troubles just vanish…

  3. Sodrohu says:

    @henry: You want to sleep, yet the Egyptian guys next door are pumping out loud techno music from their brand new laptop speakers. Happened to me a lot.

    Yeah, life sucks, but we’ll just have to deal with it since the other alternative would be to kill yourself. Then again, rather than dwell on a particularly lousy Sunday, why not reflect on the better days before, or the oncoming ones?

    Company’s got a showcase and I still haven’t done a good job on my project. Yeah, bite me.

    BTW, Street Fighter IV rocks. You really must definitely so try it.

Leave a Reply

