You Watch, I Watch

Quickie: Credits to Chen for the title and conversation material😀

What Titanic Film?

What Titanic Film?

Had lunch with Chen – my roomie – at one of the university’s better cafes and the tube was playing an unfamiliar movie. I did recognize Kate Winslet though.

As Chen set his plate down on the table, we had a conversation:

Me: What movie is that? Looks familiar but I can’t tell what.

Chen: (turns to look) Oh, that’s Titanic! This is the very beginning, probably about 5 minutes or so into the film.

… You know, I’ve never seen the show Titanic before. Never.

😯 (stares at me like I’m some Neanderthal who just stumbled out of a cave)

… What the hell!?

😀 LOL!

Poster from Wikipedia

Poster from Wikipedia

Yes, this is my deep, dark secret. I’ve never seen the epic love story set aboard a doomed luxury cruise ship. I know the “arms-outstretched-at-the-front-of-the-ship” pose, I’m sick of Celine Dion’s “My Heart Will Go On”, I even know “You jump, I jump”!

Yet, despite knowing all that, never once have I seen the actual honest-to-God film, Titanic.

Did you watch Titanic? And perhaps more importantly, should I watch Titanic? 😛

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Humour. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to You Watch, I Watch

  1. crystal says:

    erh. i don’t think you’re missing out on much. i remember laughing out loud watching the sink tanking in two parts.. :s

  2. Sodrohu says:

    Don’t watch. It leaves anyone who watches it with a sinking feeling.

  3. Brian says:

    Well…ummm…i guess it’s up to you…it’s not a bad movie. Probably on of the greatest love story ever told (the only love story movies I’ve seen are “You’ve got mailed”, “Sleepless in Seattle”, “Pretty Woman” & “The Holiday”)

  4. Henry Yew says:

    (stares at you as if you are some Neanderthal that just came out of a cave)

    Hee… just kidding. Well, you ain’t missing much. Basically the whole story of Titanic can be summarised into….

    I shouldn’t give spoilers here.😛

    As for Sodrohu’s reply, it reminds me of the “Lust: Caution” poster which Stella Jagah edited, with the words “Don’t watch don’t watch don’t watch” all watermarked in the background.😀

  5. haneefisa says:

    i always thinks that Titanic has the best storyline ever. Its perfect, no un-necessary scenes wutsoever. Of course, most people just know the stretching arm, naked drawing, sex in the car and you-jump-i-jump parts, but for me the best part is when Leo showing Kate how life really is out of the glitters and tea party of the upper class. Go download from dc++ la Jared =P

    Not really into cheesy lovey dovey film, but i do appreciate a good movie =)

  6. keane says:

    you should.. seriously..

  7. wei han says:

    You should watch…
    nice movie!

  8. Wen Sher says:

    Should go and watch la Jared.. Or else i come back and give u the look that Chen gave u.😛 Jk jk.

  9. kucingsiber says:

    if you’re a girl; then it would be weird xD

  10. Jasmine says:

    Kucing Siber,
    Then I may just be one of those weird girls eh? I never watched Titanic also. I would always begin watching it but never finish because I always ALWAYS have to do something. So Jared, you’re not aloneee😀

  11. leslielinda says:

    up to you la, jared. i personally think the whole story is a bit too tragic and i didn’t like the ending one tiny bit. what kind of love that stays till she (that heroin) was just an old woman, dreaming and thinking about her youthful love? i find it disturbing and not realistic. people should get on with their lives, and not mourning about things in the past-hoping beyond hopes to see their dead lover materialize back in dreams. -_-” btw, i get skeptical whenever i watch love movies so my opinion might not matter much😛 as i have said, up to you.

  12. NJ says:

    lol. it’s up to you. I’ve watched it many years ago. It’s somewhat tragic.

    Have you watched lust: caution instead?😀

  13. kucingsiber says:

    jasmine,
    wow~ i always thought that titanic is a must-see-muvee for girls..guess i’m wrong
    but,u did partially watch😛

Leave a Reply

