The First Time I Laid Eyes on You

Quickie: One more paper to go, Advanced Database Systems on 25th November. After that, it’s the semester break for me, w00t! Have yet to decide if I want to spend part of my holidays in UTP to work on my Final Year Project.

Photo by cliff1066

You know that saying, “Don’t judge a book by its cover?” The way we keep throwing it about like it people actually give a shit?

First impressions matter. The way you look and dress speaks a lot about who you are in person, and nowhere is this more relevant than when meeting new people.

You can tell, can’t you: the way their eyes quickly skim up and down you, taking in the image of you, trying to gauge if you’re a nice guy or just another asshole looking for trouble.

Well,Β I recently learned something quite shocking about myself.

Apparently, more than a few people thought I was a snob the first time they saw or got to know me.

Merriam-Webster defines a snob as:

a : one who tends to rebuff, avoid, or ignore those regarded as inferior
b : one who has an offensive air of superiority in matters of knowledge or taste

Of course, those of you who know me in person would know that this is as faaar from the truth as it can get. I’m a real nice guy after all.

πŸ˜€

But yeah. It is very surprising to discover that a substantial number of people I know had the first impression of me as a snob.

Apa tengok?

Then again, looking at the picture above, I do feel a lot like slapping that glare right off his upstart face.

What was your first impression of me like? Did people have a first impression of you that you never expected?

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Humour, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The First Time I Laid Eyes on You

  1. haneefisa says:

    I used to have this bad impression about this guy, later to found out that he happen to be one of the nicest person i ever knew. And the one who started okay is now my biggest enemy.

    People tend to act differently with unfamiliar faces. Once you know them, the truth comes out. I know, this first impression thingy is a total bullshit

  2. Wei Han says:

    haha..

    “Apparently, more than a few people thought I was a snob the first time they saw or got to know me.” (taken from the 9th line after the pic)

    To other readers, I’m one of the ‘a few people’ mentioned above. lol

  3. Joanna says:

    Hahahaha ! Now that’s a first !
    The first time I met you I actually thought you were a real charmer. Honestly, had some problem trusting your sincerity then =P But time has unveiled the truth and you’re still a charmer, but I have lesser doubts now. Just kidding =P no doubts, no doubts ..

    As fas as first impressions go, I was always Miss Hoity Toity coz I’m usually quiet around new people & tend to keep my opinions to myself. So hey there fellow snobπŸ˜›

  4. FangXuan says:

    If ur Sexy and u Know u clap your hands~ *Clap Clap*

  5. Wei Han says:

    oh~ i didnt do the ‘praise’ part.. (gotta follow the trend)
    Yeah, snob indeed was his first impression to me.. But now i get to know him more, i realize he is lovable… lol. okay.. i mean friendly.. (out of my expectation kind of friendly)
    Enjoyed chatting with him… although sometimes, i’m still having doubt “is he the same person?” as he is so much different compared to my first impression.

  6. izzi says:

    you scared the hell outta me. πŸ™‚
    seriously!
    cause you were MPP while i was in foundy 1st.
    glad you “changed” over time.πŸ˜›

  7. adlil says:

    Oh God. Yes, my first impression of you wasn’t that great, to be quite honest. Thought you were a bit snobbish from your looks, pardon the sincerity. I guess it’s much better when you start talking.πŸ˜€

    However, you kinda changed the negative perception after subsequent meets. You turned out to be quite the fun chatty type. Maybe your personality just needs warming up to:/

    Reassuring, no? Haha.❀

  8. Orkid says:

    when i first met u. mase ngah MAS. hehe

    2 b honest, my first impression towards u not like others kot. i neva think that u r a snob.

    i ingat lagi when i looked at u i was like. wow! dak ni mesti a brilliant student. n very friendly n quite talkative. haha.

    so my impression ni taklah jauh from the real uπŸ™‚

    nice knowing u, papa

  9. kersani says:

    well, snob doesn’t always necessarily means bad thing isn’t it? hehehe!

    But no worry bro, you’re a cool guy.

    Like, real cool. Or in Malay, we’ll say ‘sempoiiiiiiii’………..

    weeee! ^_~

  10. Syd says:

    jaaaahaha really!? it never crossed me that you were a snob. jared’s fun to be with ^^ but i guess everybody gets that now and thenπŸ˜€

    i just think that if someone immediately judges a person, he/she is missing the chance to actually know someone great >w<

    and i had learnt that some people put on their best behaviors at first just so they can win you and once they get what they waaannnt poof! they're gone

  11. Syd says:

    btw i love that “apa tengok?” caption XDXDXDXD

  12. Mally says:

    aahh well, people use to say i was anti social and snobbish. haha. i don’t really care about what people say actually, so should you. just brush these people off because if only comes down to friends you’ve known for a long time. these people will appreciate the you that you are to them and that’s the beauty of friendship. and jared, though we’ve not met face to face, i think you’re prolly an awesome guy just like your blog name awesomesauce! hehe. and i’ll get to know you more during the party i hopeπŸ™‚

    the picture, muka tak boleh belah! hahaha!πŸ˜€ good one!πŸ˜‰

  13. Brian says:

    I first got to know you from Henry. I’ll always remember you telling me Russel Peter jokes(remember punani?)Thought you were an arrogant person, but glad i got to know you. Now ur one of my best pals in UTP. Haha.

  14. joe says:

    lol brain… all u remember bout russell is punani??

    hey jared. i used 2 think u were irritating n not really that arrogant la.. but then i guess that hasn’t changed much. =P no la… u weren’t irritating after all. n a pretty cool dude 2 hang around.. =)

  15. jasmine says:

    I can’t remember my first impression of you. Probably because it happened AGESSSS ago. Say, 5 years? So, I’m just going to rattle about based on instinct and boredom.

    Frankly speaking, I didn’t have any first impression or any impressions in that matter of you, because I wasn’t close to you when I first met you. All I remember was that you were sweet and helpful towards me. Since I’m anal on almost every shit we were given back in the workshop, and since I was head over heels over Mr. Bigshot then. I wonder if you remember who’s Mr. Bigshot. LOL.

    We’re only close when I got back home and we were communicating via phone and Internet after that. But yeah, I thought you were sweet and helpful. Whether or not you were being all snobbish and stuff, that one I don’t know. LOL. (((:

  16. kenwooi says:

    lol.. nice one.. haha..
    well.. i used to get the same comments too..
    people who doesnt know me thinks i’m quite arrogant.. haha.. oh well.. that’s just how i look… =P

  17. huiwen says:

    First impression online or in person?

    Online: Quite a snob
    In person: Quite quiet

    As Gergen would argue, today’s post-modern society relies on first impressions and ‘best/favourable’ presentations of self.

  18. Henry Yew says:

    Me ah… when I first know you ah… is that you’re one heck of a dirty-minded fella who is always on the prowl for victims (read: me) to dirty their (read: my) minds.
    πŸ˜›

  19. Sodrohu says:

    Wow. I took this pic of you back in 2nd Foundation and you still keep it till you final year.

    Am I honoured.

Leave a Reply

