Cash and Chow Woes

Quickie: Amazing how the workload has hardly let up, even with Final Year Project almost done. I know which lecturer I have to blame for it. Thank goodness for Assassin’s Creed II!

Photo by stevendepolo // Flickr

Taking a short break from posting about the Program Bicara Negarawan for a bit.

Been cheesed off with a couple of issues in Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS lately, namely: some of the PETRONAS’ scholars’ careless attitude towards their money, and campus food.

I actually ranted about this on my Facebook, but here it is again anyway for the benefit of those of you who haven’t read it.šŸ™‚

Two opinion pieces in one blog post. Not a bad deal, eh?

* * * * *

Hey Big Spender
April 18, 11:31 p.m.

You know what’s the most disgusting thing about you PETRONAS scholars? The way you throw your cash about on quote unplanned expenses unquote.

Seriously, I find it sooo damn funny the way you all moan and regret your spending an entire month’s allowance in an hour or less, only to repeat the same fucking mistake again in the next 30 days!

I was talking about this with a group of friends this morning when one of them told me money management is a talent. I agree to an extent; you have to be a whiz when it comes to investing your cash to earn substantial returns in the process, but when you can’t even manage your daily cash flow, I think it’s time you took a course in Savings 101.

At the rate some of you throw your cash about, I actually wonder if you guys realize that you’re university students. And don’t give me your bullshit about “oh, it’s my fucking money so I spend it how I like it, screw you you old fucking shit” crap.

You ever heard about moderation, putting money aside for a rainy day? No? Maybe you just can’t get it into your fucking tiny apeshit brains now that it’s stuffed with your fucking Christmas wishlist for that new whore dress or shiny crap phone.

You get RM500 per month. FIVE HUNDRED RINGGIT per month and you don’t have to do anything other than earn good grades, costs in UTP/Ipoh aren’t that high, and still you people have the fucking nerve to ask and complain to PETRONAS for more money every month?

Those of you who complain so much about not enough money from PETRONAS and all that shit.. the company should just fucking cut you out entirely. Wait till you earn your own cash, let’s see how you dickwads keep up your daily spending sprees.

Fucktards, one and all.

* * * * *

Dying for Food
April 19, 11:49 a.m.

Food in UTP is a nightmare. You can’t imagine what it’s like for me to be forced to eat in campus day in, day out. I mean, I like to think I can adapt to different foods well, but most times the stuff they put out for us to eat here is just terrible.

It’s been five years since I entered university, and the variety and standard of food hasn’t changed here much.

Main problem is finding decent vegetables. There aren’t many kinds of it at each stall; mostly it’s all meat, and yes, it’s been playing havoc with my digestive tract. The ones that are available are either half-cooked or just look plain unappetizing. You’d think twice too if coleslaw was drowned in that white liquid ‘kuah’ thingy.

Even meat doesn’t always cut it. Some of the larger pieces of chicken are barely semi-cooked around the bone, so the meat still looks and tastes raw, ugh. On top of all that, a lot of the chicken is deep-fried in oil that I’m willing to bet is reused for more than a few batches of chicken.

And the Western food here? Laughable. There’s one stall in the largest residential college here that serves all things Western, and, judging from the number of people who order their food there, I’m surprised at how many people are still alive.

I had a burger with salad and fries there once. The coleslaw salad was half-cooked while the fries were tiny, oily, cold and soggy. At least the burger was decent, right? Wrong. I spent the better half of the next morning purging my poisoned stomach.

Don’t get me wrong. There are a few pretty decent places to eat here: Paprika’s cafe at the old USM blocks, Pak Ali’s in Village 1, and the Village 3 economy rice stall serves a wicked mixed veg salad!

But being Chinese, being born and bred to love, savor and actively seek out good food, these limited number of stalls only provide me with so much.

While I was doing my internship in Kuala Lumpur, mealtimes were something I would look forward to with relish, not because I was overindulging on things like Sakae Sushi and Carl’s J.R. – I’m not made of money – but because even the simple foods like ‘chap fan’ (Cantonese for economy rice) and porridge were both tasty and wholesome to boot.

Sure, I could cook my own food.. but on top of the university outlawing cooking in the hostels, it’s unfeasible to be cooking every meal given the large burdens of work were tasked with completing each semester. As it is, sometimes we barely even have time to eat.

So you see my dilemma. And you all wonder how I stay so thin (well actually I’ve put on quite a bit of weight recently). I swear, the people here with cars keep eating in for dinner when the people without cars like yours truly cry every mealtime at the debilitating horror and pain of having to eat disastrously-prepared food.

I’d rather be living to eat than eating to live.

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cash and Chow Woes

  1. Sodrohu says:

    You dare call Ali’s food as decent?!

    HERESY!

Leave a Reply

