The Letter at the End of the World

This, here, is the end of my life.

Tomorrow is my last paper, Knowledge Management & Development. I’d always thought that this moment would be one of joy and excitement for me. Yet tonight as I sit here typing these words I feel naught inside but sadness and dread.

The thought lingers in my mind like shrapnel: I’m done, and I’m leaving.

Leaving behind the stress of Final Year Project.
The sucky food and resulting diarrhea.
The assignments, projects and tests.
The permanent Internet connection.
The late night outings to mamak or McDonald’s.
The laughter of coursemates sharing an inside joke.
The hectic running and organizing of university events.
The shared regret of mistakes made.

It’s now that I feel I’ve so much left to say to each and every one of you kindred spirits that I’ve been so fortunate and blessed to have met and gotten to know over the time I have been here in this university.

So much to say for so much left unsaid, indeed.

Thank you to everyone for the laughter, tears, workload, food and experiences we’ve shared up till now. But know that a single sentence of spoken gratitude will never be enough to adequately express all that I’ve learned and undergone in the time that I’ve known all of you.

I’m sorry for all and any wrongdoings and hurt feelings I might have caused you. It has never been my intention to do you any harm in any way.

For better or worse, my time with you has shaped me into who I am today: the devilishly handsome and sexily awesomesauce Jared you all know so well. (You know I couldn’t resist slipping that description of myself in!)

After all this while, I hope my time with you has helped you to learn many new things, overcome personal difficulties and challenges, and inspire you to reach for greater heights.

I pray that you will find your true calling in life, that you will always be loved and love in return, and that you will have happy, meaningful lives to the end of your days.

To you, each and every one of you, I bid you goodbye and au revoir. Because this, here, is the end of my life.

Tomorrow, I will begin life anew; no longer a student, but an adult. There is a world out there to be conquered, and one day I will be its king.

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Letter at the End of the World

  1. To Jared , Goodluck aku ucapkan. Aku tau kita tak banyak lepak-lepak. Tapi ada 2 3 benda jugak yang aku ingat aku buat dengan ngko, ada juga kenangan di situ.
    Dunia di luar confirm lebih mencabar dari kat dalam nih dan Aku tau ngko berpotensi tinggi nak nk jadi somebody. Hehe.

    ngko dengan osemsaus ngko takbleh dipisahkan. So semoga osemsaus ngko di hari-hari akan datang.

    To you i wish goodluck , have a nice life ,keep in touch.
    Zaman skarang dah ada facebook , means that keep in touch is a must.

    🙂

    Anwar Bobo Mahmod

  2. Bali says:

    wish u well bro, jangan ilang youth spirit bila da jadik adult plz
    haha

  3. mfeoleo says:

    auwww ;( sedey2..
    good luck jared last paper sok! huhu.. aku selase last.
    sorry juge kalu kot2 ade salah silap, sedar ke tak sedar ke.. thanks jugak coz jadi kawan yang osem even tak bape rapat sangat. hoho. keep in touch! da glamer kang jgn lupe aku plak. kalau masuk tv lagi jgn lupe sebut name aku.. ;p

  4. Sayang Syazanna Raf'ee says:

    Dear Jared,

    Thanks for including me within this post. Its been nice knowing you as well learning from you. You have the confidence and the brains. I really respect the way you think about life, you always keep an open mind.

    Good luck for tomorrow and all the new things you’ll learn in adult life. Always maintain a good foundation with a strong structure (when civilianz talks,this happens..) because in the outside world, you maybe tricked,kicked,lied and all those bad things that may happen.

    All and all…i wish you all the best and it was a very nice and a pleasure to get to know and have known the devilishly handsome and sexily awesomesauce Jared . Haha! Jangan sombong ble jumpa and mind my English.

  5. nadia azman@edy says:

    Jared,
    thats vry sad goodbye wish..
    but, alwys remmber, dat this is not our last goodbye
    sure we meet again smday..
    nyway,nice to know u dis 5 years,
    u alwys be a gud fren..
    wishing u alwys success n achieve wat u really want ….
    last but not least
    GOOD LUCK nnn FAREWELL

  6. nabs says:

    Aiyoh Jar, time flies ya. Starting from when Chira and I both spammed this website of Randts and then your best friend Henry’s blog and then by God’s chance, we all met up together while in MPPUTP. Wow, time really flies just like that.

    Good luck to you too Jar. Take care, and will miss the near-dawn Mc Donald’s retreat. If got time ar, I will draw something about you. And it will be special because when it comes to my drawings, they are always special. Neways, will see you in KL as well. Keep in touch, don’t go MIA-ing🙂

  7. dyla says:

    Papa!
    its touching okay, u can’t say goodbye to your daughter but instead you might wanna change it to “Till we meet again”=) .Never ever get enough of me.heheBest of luck for the KMD paper tomorrow also for your big future ahead.

    Gonna miss you and take care!

  8. When you’re rich and famous, always remember that I want a Mini Cooper. Or a pink Bentley.

    Thank you.

    I know you lavvvvvvv me.
    😉 Chira

  9. Feeza Zukepeli says:

    uh.. ase sedih plak nk tgl utp kn?

    T_T my time will come next.. 2 weeks to go.. then i am done..

  10. Billy says:

    All the best to you jared.. hahah

    rock the new world outside there.. wishing you all the best of luck in working life..(^o^)

  11. adlil says:

    Well said, Jared. An awesomesauce post. =)

    I wish you all the best for your future undertakings. Do keep in touch.

    – Adlil –

  12. Norzila Noh says:

    thanks for the letter..

    im also mean the same on most of what u said in the letter…
    through our though and thick moments in SRC,
    i may not be your good vp, but really hope our friendship remain forever.

    thank you, hope we will keep sharing on ur posting..
    All da best in your ‘adult’ life…[im not yet be an ‘adult’=)]

    May God be always by urside..

  13. kucingsiber says:

    awwwh~ ;_____;

    it has been an honour knowing u,darl😉

    wishin’ the best for all of us~! (and damn it we’ll meet again; dun write as if you’re dying D’:)

  14. joe says:

    Hikaru,

    I’ll miss those old days of sitting on my bed and playing DotA, Onimusha 3, NFSMW, and all the anime we covered in that short period. Still miss it every now and then. =)

    Awesome times bro, hope we could do lunch sometime before you leave. You know, just like old times. =D

  15. Vignesh Kumar says:

    dude,
    was cool partnering u for the BPs
    hard luck tough we didnt go really fa

  16. Magoo @ syafiq says:

    dude,
    nice knowing you man…its just we didn’t get the chance to know each other better (and also a borderland session together with haris… T___T….sigh)

    Anyway thank you for all the games and game’s advice all this while…really admire you man,an avid gamer yet a best student at the bicara negarawan.

    wishing you all the best in your future undertaking and stay awesome!

  17. farha says:

    ur blog has been noted.🙂

  18. Woohoo Jared!

    Nothing much to say, but I just would like to wish you all the best in ur future undertakings. It’s been a nice time to meet, even though we didn’t have much time to lepak.

    Therefore, I shall declare you, the successful “grape farmer”😀

  19. Henry Yew says:

    Jared. Let’s go yumcha!

Leave a Reply

