Back from JB

Kulai for two weeks was like a holiday where you have to work. The upside of this is the minimal contact with people at the office, so less distractions not related to the current engagement equals more work done. On the other hand, the place was really quiet and other than eating and/or spending time in the hotel room, there’s really nothing to do there.

You need to drive for half an hour before you reach Johor Bahru, so the only reason we stopped by was to hail a cab into Singapore. There’s a sense of familiarity, what with sleek glass-and-steel modern skyscrapers side-by-side with beautifully maintained pre-war buildings, but also a feeling of newness. It’s quite amazing to walk along Orchard Road and not only find pedestrian-friendly routes, but also no rubbish at all.

All in all, it was a productive two weeks there. The environment was not ideal and we faced some tough challenges, but I left Kulai with new knowledge and possibly feeling a little bit more grownup in terms of my working capabilities. I’m looking forward to more large-scale engagements such as this one, especially with a solid team to back me up!

About Jared

I am all the awesomesauce you could ever want in a handsome, neat package, and you know it.
This entry was posted in Asides. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back from JB

  1. huiwen7 says:

    did you manage to squeeze in some shopping and curry laksa? =)

  2. Jared says:

    @Hui Wen:
    I personally didn’t do much shopping in Singapore though my colleagues got themselves a few goodies. As for curry laksa, I had it the last time I dropped by JB (and this was in JB city proper) so I wasn’t actively hunting for a bowl. I prefer Sarawak laksa. Spoiled myself silly on it while in Miri and Kuching!😀

  3. Sodrohu says:

    Man, I didn’t know you went to JB! I work in Panasonic Senai now, we could’ve gone on a dinner or sumpting!

Leave a Reply

